Hidden Treasures of Louis Comfort Tiffany

Sub Header: $2 off general admission at The Paine or Oshkosh Public Museum, Jun 23-Sep 23

In 1924, the Oshkosh Public Museum opened its doors in the beautiful historic home of Edgar and Mary Jewell Sawyer. The Tiffany-designed interiors is one of the many assets that make this place so unique and historically significant. Tiffany orchestrated all aspects of the home’s interior design, including a remarkable landscape-themed stained glass window on the landing of the grand staircase.

The Museum recently contracted with Heritage Lighting Gallery of Cedarburg, Wisconsin, to install a new lighting system behind the window. The LED lights are specially designed to diffuse light where necessary to better accentuate the multiple layers of colored glass that make up this iridescent, one-of-a-kind masterpiece. This project was made possible by a generous gift from an anonymous donor through the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation.

This summer, the Museum is pleased to partner with the Paine Art Center and Gardens on a joint promotion to celebrate the beauty and unique artistry of Louis Comfort Tiffany. The Paine will present Louis Comfort Tiffany: Treasures from the Driehaus Collection from June 23 to September 23, an exhibition featuring more than 60 extraordinary objects, spanning over 30 years of Tiffany’s prolific career.

Receive $2 off general admission at The Paine by presenting your Oshkosh Public Museum membership card or paid admission receipt. Members and visitors at The Paine can also receive $2 off admission at the Oshkosh Public Museum to witness the new brilliance of a Tiffany treasure. Offer valid from June 23 to September 23, 2018. Must present proof of paid admission at either The Paine or Oshkosh Public Museum to receive discounted admission at the alternate museum.

“Living with Tiffany: Relighting a Stained Glass Treasure“

Wednesday, September 5, 6:00 pm

Edgar and Mary Sawyer’s retirement home, now part of the Oshkosh Public Museum, was designed by Oshkosh architect William Waters and built in 1908 by the local C.R. Meyer Company. The interior decorating was orchestrated by the world famous, coveted artisans of Tiffany Studios of New York. A remarkable number of original Tiffany elements still remain in the historic Sawyer home.

Debra Daubert, Curator of Exhibitions, will discuss these treasures and the tales surrounding them, proving how truly unique this Oshkosh home was and still is today. Participants can also witness a relighting ceremony of the iridescent Tiffany windows on the grand staircase, and enjoy a delightful tea reception hosted by the Museum Auxiliary.

Show on Homepage: Yes

Event Date: 6/23/2018